Students & Families
Driver Education (sometimes called Driver Training by the DMV) is required for anyone under 17 years of age who is applying for an Idaho driver’s license. An approved Idaho Driver Education program consists of a required 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving with a licensed instructor, and 6 hours of observation in a driver education car. You must have a Driver Training permit before taking any driver education courses, including those online.
All students, 14½ - 17 years of age, living in a public school district that offers driver education, are eligible to enroll whether they attend a public school, charter school, private school, or are home schooled (Idaho Code §33-1703). State law requires students to have a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours behind-the-wheel instruction, and 6 hours of observation time in a driver training car (Idaho Code §33-1702). To enroll in a Driver Education course, first choose a program.
Public School Program
- Register through the high school in your area by calling the high school or visiting the school district’s website.
- Typically, this it the most affordable option but prices vary throughout the state.
- Not all districts offer Driver Education courses.
Public programs through the Idaho Digital Learning Alliance (IDLA)
- Contact the local high school IDLA coordinator to register for an online class.
- The IDLA class costs $75. The behind-the-wheel and observation costs vary throughout the state.
- Sign up with the high school Driver Education program for behind-the-wheel lessons. Private companies can also provide students with behind-the-wheel and observation lessons.
- Visit the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses (IBOL) to find a program in your area.
- Prices vary throughout the state.
If you are eligible for Driver Education, you must:
1. Contact your local high school to enroll in either a traditional or online program or contact a private driving company.
2. Purchase a Driver Training permit at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The permit must be purchased before the student participates in ANY instruction. You will need these documents to purchase a permit:
- Proof of Age and Identity (Birth Certificate)
- Social Security Card or Number for Verification
- Proof of Residency
- Acceptable Lawful Presence Documents (if applicable)
- Visual/Medical Certification (if applicable)
- Liability Signer (if under 18)
- Verification of Compliance - VOC (if under 18)
- Retrieve from your high school administrative office
- If homeschooled, you must be enrolled in a home education program for at least one year prior to the VOC request (Idaho Code 49-303A).
Once you’ve completed Driver Education:1. Students under the age of 17 must complete the Supervised Instruction Period (SIP) of 6 months. During that time, they must accumulate and document at least 40 hours of daytime driving and 10 hours of nighttime driving.
- Download a Parent Supervised Driving book or use an App to track driving time.
- Find a Skills Test Examiner in your area
Idaho State Law requires all students under the age of 17 to complete and pass a certified Driver Education course consisting of 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and 6 hours of observation in a driver training car (Idaho Code §33-1702).
Students must then complete a minimum of 6 months, violation-free supervised instruction period during which at least 50 hours of driving time must be documented, 40 hours of daytime and 10 hours nighttime driving.
If you are under 17 years of age and have completed a Driver Training course in another state (while a resident of that state) but have not been licensed in that state, you will be required to provide acceptable proof of completion of an approved Driver Training course in that state. You will also be required to show proof of completing a supervised driving period.
All Out-of-State Transfers must be approved by the Driver Education Coordinator at the Idaho State Department of Education. Call 208-332-6984 or email firstname.lastname@example.org to begin the permit transfer process.
Parents, take advantage of every opportunity you have to sit down with your teen drivers and discuss the importance of driving safety. Whether teens are driving a car, truck or SUV, and whether they’ve just earned their license or have had it for years, the rules stay the same. They shouldn’t have the keys if they don’t know the rules. The greatest dangers for teen drivers — and the areas of focus for your conversations — are alcohol consumption, inconsistent or no seat belt use, distracted driving, speeding and driving with passengers in the vehicle.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration offers a wide range of information and tips about teen driver safety.
Know the Facts about Teen Driver Fatalities
- Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens (15-18 years old) in the United States, ahead of all other types of injury, disease or violence.
- In 2017, there were 2,247 people killed in crashes involving a teen driver (15-18 years old), and 755 teen drivers died.
- Parents can be the biggest influencers on teens’ choices behind-the-wheel if they take the time to talk with their teens about some of the biggest driving risks.
Greatest Risks for Teen Drivers
Impaired Driving: All teens are too young to legally buy, possess or consume alcohol. However, nationally in 2017, 15 percent of teen drivers involved in fatal crashes had alcohol in their systems. But alcohol isn’t the only substance that can keep your teen from driving safely: In 2017, 6.5 percent of adolescents 12 to 17 years old were marijuana users. Like other drugs, marijuana affects drivers’ ability to react to their surroundings. Driving is a complex task, and marijuana slows reaction time. Remind your teen that driving under the influence of any impairing substance — including illicit or prescription drugs, or over-the-counter medication — could have deadly consequences. It is critical that teen drivers understand why they shouldn’t drive impaired, that they will face strict penalties and may lose their license if they are caught driving impaired, and that they will face additional consequences for breaking the rules they agreed to follow when they started driving.
Seat Belts: Wearing a seat belt is one of the simplest ways for teens to stay safe in a vehicle. Yet too many teens aren’t buckling up. In 2017, 539 passengers were killed in vehicles driven by teens, and 60 percent of those passengers were NOT buckled up at the time of the crash that killed them. Even more troubling, when the teen driver was unbuckled, 87 percent of the passengers killed also were unbuckled.
Distracted Driving: Distractions while driving are more than just risky — they can be deadly. In 2017, among teen drivers involved in fatal crashes, 9 percent were reported as distracted at the time of the crash. This age group (15-18) also has the largest percentage of drivers who were distracted at the time of a crash. Common distractions include texting while driving and interacting with passengers in the car.
Passengers: Teen drivers transporting passengers can have disastrous consequences. Research shows that the risk of a fatal crash goes up dramatically in direct relation to the number of passengers in a car. The likelihood of teen drivers engaging in risky behavior triples when traveling with multiple passengers.
Speeding: In 2017, more than a quarter (27 percent) of all teen drivers of passenger vehicles involved in fatal crashes were speeding at the time of the crash, and boys were more likely to be involved in fatal speeding-related crashes than girls.
Be Empowered: Talk Regularly to Your Teen about the Dangers of Driving
Parenting teens can be hard, and the topic of driving can present a whole new set of challenges. Driving is a new chapter and a step toward independence for many teens. This is why constant communication about safe driving skills is essential. Self-reported surveys show that teens with parents who set and enforce firm rules for driving typically engage in fewer risky driving behaviors and are involved in fewer crashes. Don’t look at the conversation as nagging or bothersome — your teen is counting on you, not only to set a good example, but to enforce the rules. Keep the following in mind when talking to your teen:
- Get the facts about teen driving and share these statistics with your teen.
- Become familiar with Idaho’s nighttime driving restrictions, passenger restrictions, and graduated driver licensing restrictions, and help law enforcement and educators enforce them.
- Remind your teen that driving is a privilege, not a right, and it must always be taken seriously.
- Set the rules before your teen hits the road, and make it clear that violating the rules will have serious repercussions.
- Talk to your teen about safe cell phone use while in the car. Encourage them to never text and drive and to pull over before answering phone calls or responding to text messages.
Ensure Your Teen Driver Follows the Rules of the Road
- Don’t Drive Impaired.
Set a good example by not driving after drinking while impaired. Remind your teen that drinking before the age of 21 is illegal, and alcohol and/or marijuana and driving should never mix, no matter your age. Also remind them that driving under the influence of any impairing substance — including illicit, prescription, or over-the-counter drugs — could have deadly consequences.
- Buckle Up, Front Seat and Back — Every Trip. Every Time. Everyone — Front Seat and Back.
Lead by example. If you wear your seat belt every time you’re in the car, your teen is more likely to buckle up. Remind your teen that it’s important to use seat belts on every trip, every time, including in taxis and when using ride-sharing services.
- Eyes on the Road, Hands on the Wheel. All the Time.
Remind your teen about the dangers of texting, dialing or using mobile apps while driving. Require your young drivers to put their phones away when they are on the road and turn on the “Do Not Disturb” or similar feature on their phone. Distracted driving isn’t limited to phone use; other passengers, audio and climate controls in the vehicle, and eating or drinking while driving are all sources of dangerous distractions for teen drivers. If your teen breaks the rules, enforce the penalties you set before they started driving.
- Obey All Posted Speed Limits.
Speeding is a critical issue for all drivers, especially for teens who lack the experience to react to changing circumstances around their cars. Obey the speed limit, and require your teen to do the same.
- Limit Passengers.
With each passenger in the vehicle, your teen’s risk of a fatal crash increases. Review Idaho’s graduated driver licensing law before your teen takes to the road; it may restrict the number of passengers in the vehicle during the initial permitting stage, and it may further dictate who can ride in a car being driven by a teen or novice driver.
Frequently Asked Questions
No content available.