
Idaho Young Driver Information 

  

                                                
 

Introduction 

As more motorists share Idaho’s streets and scenic highways, it becomes increasingly important that you always 

drive courteously and safely. Becoming a safe driver takes time and practice. By knowing and following the 

“rules of the road,” Idaho's traffic laws, and understanding what the signs and signals mean, you will be able to 

move smoothly and safely in a variety of traffic situations. You should learn and practice driving safely, 

defensively, and with common sense. Your life as well as the lives of your family, friends, and other drivers 

depends on it. 

 

Licensing Overview 

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle on the public roads in Idaho is required to have a valid driver's license. 

You can be licensed in Idaho when you are 15 years old. However, if you are under 17 years old, you must first 

successfully complete an approved driver’s training program. Under Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License 

Program, you must complete a Supervised Instruction Period (SIP). After completing the SIP, you will be 

eligible to apply for a driver’s license. This license will be restricted to driving during daylight hours only until 

you are 16 years old. If you are under 16 years of age, you are only authorized to drive during daylight hours 

unless you are supervised by a valid, licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and is sitting in the front seat 

beside you (no other passengers are allowed in the front seat). Daylight hours are defined as “1/2 hour before 

sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.”  When moving to Idaho you will need to apply for an Idaho driver's license 

within 90 days of residing in Idaho, whether your out-of-state license has expired or not. If you have a 

Commercial Driver's License (CDL), you are required to be licensed in Idaho within 30 days of residing in 

Idaho. Students attending a college or university in Idaho and members of the U.S. Military on active duty and 

their dependents who hold a valid driver’s license from another state and who claim residency in that state are 

not required to obtain an Idaho driver’s license. 

 

 

Fees 
OPERATOR LICENSE (CLASS D) 

• 1-year (age 17).................................................................................$15.00 

• 3-year (under 18)................................................................................25.00 

• 3-year (age 18 to 21)...........................................................................25.00 

• 1-year (age 20)...................................................................................15.00 

• 4-year (age 21 and over).....................................................................30.00 

• 8-year (age 21 to 62)...........................................................................55.00 



Instruction Permit (IP)........................................................................15.00 

Knowledge Test....................................................................................3.00 

Skills Test ($6.50 to County, $17.50 to Skills Tester)..........................24.00 

Duplicate License/IP/SIP*..................................................................15.00 

Driver Training Instruction Permit......................................................21.50** 

*Supervised Instruction Permit 

**Includes $6.50 admin. fee collected in advance for skills test receipt. 

MOTORCYCLE (In addition to above license fees) 

Instruction Permit (must have Idaho License)...................................$15.00 

Duplicate Permit.................................................................................15.00 

Knowledge Test....................................................................................3.00 

Skills Test (collected by skills tester)..................................................10.00 

One-Time “M” Endorsement..............................................................15.00 

IDENTIFICATION CARD 

ID Card (no age limit) 

• Under age 18...................................................................................$10.00 

• Age 18 to 21......................................................................................10.00 

• 4-year (age 21 and over)....................................................................10.00 

• 8-year (age 21 and over)....................................................................20.00 

Duplicate ID (same fee as original) 

Note: All Retest Fees are the Same as the Original Test Fees. 

Types of Licenses 
 

Class A, B, and C licenses are Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDLs) that allow a person to operate certain 

types of commercial vehicles. A commercial vehicle, for driver-licensing purposes, is a vehicle that either has a 

manufactured gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, is placarded for hazardous materials, or 

designed to carry 16 people or more. See the Commercial Driver’s License Manual for detailed information 

about commercial driver licensing applications and requirements. 

 

Class D licenses allow drivers to operate non-commercial motor vehicles. 

 

Class D Instruction Permits allow people to practice driving a motor vehicle for 180 days when accompanied 

by an adult (someone who is 18 years old, or older) who holds a valid driver’s license. These permits are 

available if you are at least 15 years old and have successfully completed an approved or accredited driver 

training program and the Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL). If you have not successfully completed 

driver training and the GDL Program, you must pass a written knowledge test and be at least 17 years old to be 

issued an instruction permit. The permit may be renewed one (1) time without requiring the permit holder to 

retake and pass the Class D knowledge test, provided the previous knowledge test was taken within the past 12 

months. 

 

Motorcycle (M) Endorsements are required on any Class D or Commercial Driver’s License when a 

motorcycle rider operates on public roadways. A motorcycle is defined as a motor vehicle that has a seat or 

saddle for the use of the rider and is designed to travel with not more than three wheels in contact with the 

ground. Tractors and mopeds are not classified as motorcycles. You must pass a written and a skills test or 

successfully complete an approved motorcycle training course before receiving a motorcycle endorsement. If 

you are surrendering an out-of-state or foreign license that has a motorcycle endorsement, you are still required 

to pass a written motorcycle knowledge test.  If your Idaho or out-of-state license has been expired for 25 

months or longer, you will also be required to take the skills test. 

 

 

 



 

Driver Training 
An approved Idaho driver-training program consists of a required 1,800 minutes (30 hours) of classroom 

instruction, 360 minutes (6 hours) of in car observation in a driver-training car, and 360 minutes (6 hours) of 

behind the wheel driving with a driver training instructor. Driver training is required for anyone under 17 years 

old who is applying for an Idaho driver’s license. The Department of Education provides approved courses 

through public schools. Most Idaho school districts offer driver-training programs in cooperation with the 

Department of Education. The courses are open to all Idaho residents between the ages of 14 ½ and 21, even if 

they are not public school students. Driver training classes are also available through private driver training 

schools. If you are under 17 years old and have completed driver training in another state (while a resident of 

that state) but have not been licensed in that state, you will be required to provide acceptable proof of 

completion of an approved driver training course from that state. If you are not surrendering an out-of-state 

license, you will also be required to complete a supervised driving period prior to licensing. 

 

Driver Training/Supervised Instruction Permits 
Anyone under 17 years of age must have a driver training instruction permit/supervised instruction permit to 

attend any public school or private driver training program. The permit expires 5 days after the permit holder’s 

18th birthday. The permit expiration for people 17 ½ years of age and older is 180 days. Anyone 17 years of age 

or older may take driver training with either the Driver Training/Supervised Instruction Permit or with the Class 

D Instruction Permit. The knowledge test must be passed before a Class D Instruction Permit can be issued. 

While you are enrolled in a driver’s training program, the Driver Training/Supervised Instruction Permit is valid 

only to operate a vehicle with a driver training instructor. When you have successfully completed a driver’s 

training program and the instructor has given you the permit, you will be eligible to begin the supervised 

instruction period required by Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program. The documents required to 

get a driver-training permit are the same as those required for a driver’s license and are listed on the following 

pages. The certified birth certificate you provide must list your mother and father for liability signer purposes. 

At age 18 you may apply for a Class D Instruction Permit without a parental liability signer. 

 

Graduated Driver’s License Program 
Anyone under 17 years of age who has not been issued a driver’s license in Idaho must successfully complete 

an approved driver training program and comply with the requirements of the Graduated Driver’s Licensing 

(GDL) Program. Under this program, you will be required to complete a minimum six-month, violation-free 

supervised instruction period, during which you must: 

 be accompanied by a supervising valid licensed driver at least 21 years old who is occupying the seat 

beside   the driver (no other passengers are allowed in the front seat), 

 assure that all occupants are wearing seat belts or child restraints if required, 

 observe all laws regarding alcohol and other intoxicating substances, and 

 accumulate at least 50 hours of supervised driving time, ten hours of which must be at night. 

If you are convicted of violating any traffic laws while you are operating a vehicle under the Supervised 

Instruction Permit (SIP), the permit will be cancelled and you must reapply for a new SIP. Your minimum 6 

months of supervised driving begins all over again with the issuance of a new permit. Once you have 

successfully met the requirements of the GDL, you will be required to take and pass a skills test and a written 

knowledge test before receiving a driver’s license. A parent or legal guardian may accompany you during the 

skills test after signing a liability waiver. 

 

Restriction Under 17  
Licensees under the age of 17 are required during the first six months from the date the license was issued to 

limit the number of passengers in the vehicle who are under the age of 17 to not more than one passenger, 

unless the passenger is related by blood, marriage, or adoption. This law became effective July 1, 2007 and 

applies to all drivers in the above category, whether or not the restriction is printed on the license. Violation of 



any driver license restriction may result in an automatic 30 day license suspension for drivers under the age of 

17. 

Documents Required for Licensing New Applicants 
Idaho considers new applicants to be individuals who either (1) have never been licensed in Idaho or any other 

state or jurisdiction, (2) are returning to Idaho after getting a driver’s license or ID card in another state or 

jurisdiction, (3) are surrendering a license from another jurisdiction, or (4) have an Idaho driver’s license that 

has been expired for 25 months or more. If you are a new applicant for a driver’s license, instruction permit, ID 

card, or driver training permit, you are required to provide the following to the driver’s license examiner: 

1. Proof of Age and Identity 

2. Social Security Card or Number for Verification 

3. Proof of Idaho Residency 

4. Acceptable Lawful Presence Documents (if applicable) 

5. Foreign Driver’s License (if applicable) 

6. Visual/Medical Certification (if applicable) 

7. Driver Training Completion (if under 17) 

8. Liability Signer (if under 18) 

9. Verification of School Compliance – VOC (if under 18) 

 

Proof of Age and Identity 
Driver’s license examiners are required by law to verify your age and identity before issuing you a driver’s 

license or ID card. If you have a valid state-issued driver’s license or state-issued ID card (with photo) to 

surrender that contains your full legal name and date of birth, that will be sufficient to prove age and identity. 

Photocopies or faxes of these documents will not be accepted. If you do not have a valid state-issued driver’s 

license or state-issued ID card (with photo), you will need to provide a U.S. certified birth certificate and an 

acceptable photo identity document from Table 1 below. If the birth certificate does not match your current 

name (such as maiden name vs. married name) a secondary document, such as a marriage certificate, from 

 

Social Security Card or Number for Verification 
Bring your Social Security Number or the original card issued by the Social Security Administration. Your 

Social Security Number will be verified.  It will not be printed on your Idaho driver’s license or ID card. 

 

Proof of Idaho Residency 
You must reside inside Idaho’s borders to be issued an Idaho driver’s license or ID card. You will be required to 

show proof of residency with documents such as lease or rental agreements, utility bills, employment records, 

school enrollment records, etc. Some documents may be required to be dated within 30 days. Your home 

address (where you live) cannot be your workplace, vacation residence, or a part-time residence. 

 

Acceptable Lawful Presence Documents (if applicable) 
Individuals who are not lawfully present in the United States are not eligible for an Idaho driver’s license or ID 

card. Proof of lawful presence may be required for a new issuance or renewal, if you have not previously 

provided proof of U.S. citizenship or ITD does not have record of it. Acceptable lawful presence documents 

include: 

• Certified court name change document 

• Certified marriage certificate meeting Idaho standards with seal and document number showing that it 

was recorded 

• Certified divorce document from a court or state vital records 

• Guardianship or custody documents, notarized or court certified 

• U.S. Military discharge paper (Form # DD214)Certified original U.S. Birth Certificate 

 

Liability Signer (if under 18) 



If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a birth parent or legal guardian with you to sign consent for you 

to be licensed. The signer assumes legal responsibility for your actions as a driver. If the liability signer is not 

the mother or father listed on your birth certificate, you must also provide acceptable legal documents (e.g. 

adoption records or court guardianship documents). The identity of the liability signer will be verified. If the 

signer’s name is different from the one appearing on your birth certificate, additional documents such as a 

marriage license or divorce decree may be required to verify relationship. If the liability signer cannot be 

present to sign the application at the county office, the liability signer must complete a power of attorney form 

giving another person authority to sign for him or her. If you are married, your spouse, who must be at least 18 

years of age, may sign for you. As long as you are under 18, the person who signs for you may withdraw 

consent at any time, which will cause the department to cancel your driver’s license. 

 

Verification of School Compliance – VOC (if under 18) 
If you are under 18 years old you will need to provide acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance in or 

graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program. This proof can be in the form of a verification 

of compliance slip from an acceptable school or program you are attending, a high school diploma, or a general 

education certificate of completion. When signing the liability statement, your parent(s) or legal guardian must 

also sign a statement that you are in compliance with the school attendance provisions of Idaho Code. 

 

Examinations 
Applicants must be 15 years old or older to take the written knowledge and skills tests. 

 

Vision Screening  
Your vision will be tested and you must meet a minimum standard of 20/40 vision in at least one eye, with or 

without corrective lenses. If you wear glasses or contacts during the vision screening, a lens restriction will be 

placed on your driver’s license. If a lens restriction is placed on your driver’s license, you must always wear 

your glasses or contacts when operating a vehicle or you could be cited and lose your driving privileges for a 

period of time. 

 

Written Knowledge Test   
If you are a new applicant or your Idaho Driver’s license has been expired for 25 months or more, you will be 

tested on your knowledge of Idaho traffic laws, highway signs by shape and symbol, traffic signals, pavement 

markings, and equipment required on motor vehicles.  The written test consists of forty (40) questions and you 

are allowed to miss six (6) questions to pass the test. No aids (written, audio, or electronic) are allowed to be 

used while taking the written test. The test is available in English, Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, French, Korean, 

Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Vietnamese and ASL (American Sign Language). 

 

IF YOU FAIL A WRITTEN AND/OR SKILLS TEST, YOU MUST WAIT THREE DAYS TO RETEST. 

YOU WILL ALSO NEED TO PAY THE TEST FEES AGAIN TO RETAKE ANYWRITTEN OR SKILLS 

TESTS. 

 

Skills Test  
The skills test evaluates your ability to drive a vehicle safely, demonstrate good driving habits, and obey traffic 

laws in a variety of driving situations.  To schedule a skills test, you need to make an appointment with a 

certified skills tester. A list of skills testers in your area will be provided by the driver’s license office when you 

make application. You must pay the skills tester portion of the fee directly to the tester. 

Your skills test will take about 30 minutes to complete. The test consists of two parts: the pre-drive check and 

the driving test. It is important to make sure the vehicle you bring to the skills test has valid proof of insurance 

(paper or electronic), is properly registered, is in good running condition, and is clean and safe to operate. You 

must also have authorization to use it if it does not belong to you.  

 

Pre-drive Check 



During this part of the test, you will be asked to locate and/or demonstrate the items listed below to determine 

your knowledge and that the equipment is in good working order: 

- Tires (must have at least 1/32” of tread on them) 

- Brakes, including the emergency brake 

- Headlights, brake lights, and turn signals in both the front and back 

- Windshield and wipers 

- Defroster 

- Gauges 

- Seat Belts 

- Horn 

- Rear view mirror(s) 

- Driver window in good working order 

- Emergency flashers 

- Passenger door (must open and close) 

- Arm signals for stopping and signaling to turn 

 

Driving Test  
During this part of the skills test, you will demonstrate your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle and obey 

traffic laws while performing the following maneuvers: 

- Street parking and backing 

- Parking lot driving 

- Business and residential driving 

- Freeway or highway driving 

- Four right turns and four left turns 

- Eight intersections 

- Driving through a curve 

- Lane changes 

You will be tested on proper traffic checks, speed, acceleration and deceleration, starting and stopping 

distances, lane position, and vehicle spacing. You will fail the skills test if you cannot successfully complete the 

pre-drive check or if you accumulate more than 15 errors. You will fail the skills test immediately for any 

collision or near collision, any dangerous action, a serious or persistent violation of law, or lack of cooperation. 

If you fail the skills test you must wait three days before retesting. You will need to get another receipt from the 

county and pay another skills test fee to the tester. You are not required to retest with the same tester and may 

retest with any tester you choose.  When you have passed your skills test, the tester will give you a sealed 

envelope containing your test results. Do not open the envelope—if you do, the county will not accept your 

test results. 

 

MOTORCYCLES 

Any person who applies for a motorcycle endorsement must pass both a written knowledge and a road skills 

test. If you are under 21 years old you will also be required to successfully complete a motorcycle rider training 

course. Rider courses are available throughout Idaho. Call the Idaho Skills Training Advantage for Riders 

(STAR) toll free at (888) 280-STAR (7827). 

Idaho law requires all persons under the age of 18 to wear a DOT-approved protective helmet while riding on or 

operating a motorcycle or ATV. 

GRADUATED DRIVER'S LICENSE PROGRAM  

http://www.idahostar.org/
http://www.idahostar.org/


Effective January 1, 2001, anyone under 17 years of age who has not been issued a driver's license in Idaho 

must successfully complete an approved driver training program and comply with the requirements of the 

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Program. Under the GDL Program, you will be required to complete a 

minimum six-month violation-free supervised instruction period, during which you must: 

 be accompanied by a supervising person at least 21 years old with a valid driver's license who is 

occupying the seat beside you (no other passengers are allowed in the front seat),  

 assure that all occupants are wearing seat belts or child restraints if required,  

 have the Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP) in your immediate possession while driving,  

 observe all laws regarding alcohol and other intoxicating substances, and  

 accumulate at least 50 hours of supervised driving time, ten hours of which must be at night  

If you are convicted of violating any traffic laws (moving or non-moving), violate any restrictions, or have your 

driving privileges suspended by the department or the courts while you are operating under the Supervised 

Instruction Permit (SIP), the permit will be canceled and you must apply for a new SIP. Your minimum six 

months of supervised driving begins all over again with the issuance of a new permit. You may drive on your 

SIP for longer than six months if it has not expired. 

Once you have successfully met the requirements of the GDL, and are at least 15 years of age, you will be 

required to take and pass the skills test and the knowledge test before receiving a driver's license. The skills test 

and the knowledge test may NOT be taken sooner than six (6) months from the date you complete the driver's 

training course or age 17, whichever comes first. If you fail the written and/or the skills test, you must wait 

three days before retesting for each failure. 

  

GDL TRAFFIC VIOLATION PENALTIES 

As part of the Graduated Driver's License Program all drivers under the age of 17 are subject to the following 

moving traffic violation penalties: 

 First violation - Warning letter  

 Second violation - Minimum 30-day suspension  

 Third violation - Minimum 60-day suspension  

These penalties are in addition to the cancellation of a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP) during the supervised 

instruction period, or any other suspensions that may be ordered by a court or the department because of a 

traffic violation. For further information regarding suspensions and Idaho's Point Violation System, refer to the 

Violation Points section. 

NOTE: If your SIP or driver's license gets suspended, you must pay all applicable reinstatement fees before 

your driving privileges can be reinstated. If your SIP has been canceled, you will have to purchase a new SIP if 

you are under 17 years old. 

  

ALCOHOL/DRUG VIOLATIONS 

It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other intoxicating substance, 

or any combination of alcohol, drugs and/or any other intoxicating substances to drive or be in actual physical 

control of a motor vehicle.  

http://www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/DriverServices/ds_viol.htm


In addition, drivers under the age of 21 who have a blood alcohol content of .02 or higher while operating a 

motor vehicle will be subject to suspension of driving privileges for up to one year and can fined up to 

$1,000.00. Penalties increase for subsequent violations and/or excessive blood alcohol concentrations. 

Violation of Idaho's alcohol/age laws when you are NOT driving will also cause your SIP or driver's license to 

be canceled or suspended. Once the court-ordered suspension period has passed and all applicable fines and 

reinstatement fees have been paid, the driver's license will be reinstated. If a SIP was canceled, and you are still 

under the age of 17, you can purchase a new SIP after you have met all reinstatement requirements. 

  

DRIVER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

Completing and passing a driver-training program is required for anyone under 17 years old who is applying for 

an Idaho driver's license. An approved Idaho driver training program consists of a required 30 hours (1,800 

minutes) of classroom instruction, six hours (360 minutes) of in-car observation in a driver-training car, and six 

hours (360 minutes) of behind-the-wheel driving with a driver training instructor. The minimum training period 

for students attending driver education classes through a public school is 30 days. Commercial (private) schools 

are not restricted to a minimum training period. 

Most Idaho school districts offer driver training programs in cooperation with the Department of Education. The 

public school courses are open to all Idaho residents between the ages of 14 1/2 and 21, even if they are not 

public school students. Commercial (private) driver training courses are available to anyone 14 1/2 years of age 

or older. 

  

OUT-OF-STATE DRIVER TRAINING AND LICENSES 

If you are under 17 years old and have completed driver training in another state (and have not been issued a 

license in that state), you will be required to provide acceptable proof of driver training completion. If you are 

not surrendering an out-of-state license, you will also be required to complete a supervised driving period prior 

to licensing. 

If you are under 17 years old and have an out-of-state driver's license you will not be required to provide proof 

of driver training and the supervised driving period will not be required. An out-of-state driver's license may be 

used for 90 continuous days (from the time an Idaho domicile is established) before an Idaho driver's license is 

required. There are no provisions for exceptions to these requirements. 

DRIVER TRAINING / SUPERVISED INSTRUCTION PERMITS 

If you are under 17 years old you must have a driver training instruction permit to attend any commercial or 

public school driver-training program. The permits expire at age 18 for people 14 1/2 to 17 1/2 years of age; 

permits expire 180 days from issuance for people 17 1/2 years of age or older. The fee is not refundable. The 

documents required to get a driver-training permit are the same as those required for a driver's license and are 

listed in Chapter One of the Idaho Driver's Manual. The certified original copy of the birth certificate you 

provide must show mother/father for liability signer purposes. 

When you have successfully completed a driver-training program, you will be eligible to begin the supervised 

instruction period for drivers under the age of 17 as required by Idaho's Graduated Driver's License (GDL) 

program. 



 

 

LIABILITY SIGNER 

If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a birth parent or legal guardian with you at the county driver's 

license office to sign consent for you to be licensed. The signer assumes legal responsibility for your actions as 

a driver. If the liability signer is not the mother or father listed on your birth certificate, you must provide 

acceptable legal documents (adoption records or court guardianship documents). The identity of the liability 

signer will be verified. If the signer's name is different from the one appearing on your birth certificate, 

additional documents such as a marriage license or divorce decree may be required to verify relationship. If the 

liability signer cannot be present to sign the application at the county office, an acceptable power of attorney 

may be used. The power of attorney procedure requires additional time for mailing and processing documents.  

If you are married, your spouse, who must be at least 18 years of age, may sign for you. Your spouse's age must 

be verified from an acceptable photo document, such as a driver's license. As long as you are under 18, the 

person who signs for you may withdraw consent at any time. Withdrawal of consent will cause the department 

to cancel your driver's license until you reach age 18 or have another acceptable liability signer. 

  

SCHOOL ENROLLMENT OR COMPLETION 

If you are under 18 years of age you will need to provide acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance in or 

graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program before an instruction permit, driver-training 

permit or driver's license can be issued. This proof can be in the form of a verification of compliance (VOC) 

letter from an acceptable school or program you are attending, a high school diploma, or a general education 

certificate of completion. Students enrolled in a home-education program must have been enrolled in the 

program for at least one school year prior to the verification of attendance request unless documentation can be 

provided of meeting the attendance requirement for the school year immediately prior to the year in which you 

are enrolled in the home education program. 

During the summer when schools are not in session, verification of compliance may be provided by submitting 

a copy of the last semester's report card. A formal verification of compliance from the school must then be 

provided before October 1 of the current year or the driver's training permit, SIP, or driver's license will be 

canceled. When your parents sign the liability statement, they must also sign a statement that you are in 

compliance with the school attendance provisions of Idaho Code. 

  

UNDER-AGE DRIVER'S LICENSES 

Drivers under the age of 16 who have a valid driver's license or regular instruction permit may drive only during 

daylight hours unless they are accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older who has a valid driver's license 

and is sitting in the front seat. No other passengers are allowed in the front section of the vehicle. 

Licensees under the age of 17 are required - during the first six (6) months from the date the license was issued - 

to limit the number of passengers in the vehicle who are under the age of 17 to not more than one passenger, 

unless the passengers are related to the driver by blood, adoption, or marriage. 



If you are: 

 15 to 17 years of age, your driver's license will have a vertical format with a green border around the 

picture and show "Under 18 until month/day/year." It will expire five days after your 18th birthday. You 

should not renew your driver's license before your 18th birthday unless you will be temporarily living 

out of state at the time of your 18th birthday.  

 18 to 20 years of age, your driver's license will have a vertical format with a red border around the 

picture and show "Under 21 until month/day/year." It will expire five days after your 21st birthday. You 

should not renew your driver's license before your 21st birthday unless you will be temporarily living 

out of state at the time of your 21st birthday.  

  

YOUR LICENSE/ID CARD AND THE LAW  

Whenever you drive, you must have your license with you. Any misuse or mutilation of your driver's license, 

permit, or ID card is a misdemeanor and you can be fined, sentenced to jail, and/or your license can be 

suspended. If your license gets worn or damaged, you need to purchase a duplicate. 

For your own protection: 

 never lend anyone your driver's license, permit, or ID card,  

 never use anyone else's driver's license, permit, or ID card,  

 never display or possess a fraudulent/altered driver's license, permit, or ID card, and  

 never allow an unlicensed driver to drive your vehicle (in case of an accident, both the driver and the 

owner of the vehicle are responsible for damage, injury, or death when permission to drive the vehicle 

has been given).  

 


