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60-DAY TIMELINE – INDICATOR 11 
Per the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) states and local education agencies 
(LEAs) are required to ensure students with disabilities have initial eligibility determined in a 
timely manner after receipt of a signed parental consent for initial assessment. (20 U.S.C. 
1416(a)(3)(B)). 

Idaho Code 08.02.03.109.03 states; 

The total timeline from the date of receipt of written parental consent for an 
initial evaluation to the date of determination of eligibility for special education 
and related services must not exceed sixty (60) calendar days, excluding periods 
when regular school is not in session for five (5) or more consecutive school days.  

As part of Idaho’s general supervision monitoring for Child Find and 60-day timeline, LEAs are 
required to report all initial eligibility determinations, including students transitioning from the 
Infant Toddler Program as part of the regular Idaho System for Educational Excellence (ISEE) 
uploads. LEAs will need to report data for any student for whom the LEA receives signed 
parental consent for initial assessment.  

 

Data reporting regarding the 60-day timeline is mandatory for the current reporting year if 
either of the following criteria are met during the current school year or after the last day of the 
prior school year: 

1. The LEA completes an initial eligibility determination for one or more students, 
regardless of whether they are found eligible for special education and related services 

OR 

2. The LEA receives signed parental consent for an initial assessment, but the initial 
eligibility determination cannot be finalized due to: 

o Student moving out of the area (SM) 

o Parent withdrawing consent for initial assessment (WD) 

o Student passing away (SD) 

o Parent repeatedly failing or refusing to produce the student for evaluation after 
reasonable efforts by the LEA to schedule it (NR) 

If neither of these situations applies, LEAs should not fill in any fields related to Early Childhood 
Transition and the 60-day timeline in the Students with Disabilities file for ISEE. 

 

 

Early Childhood Transition Data Fields and Descriptions 
See the table below for coding details. 
 

• ECReferredDhw- Indicates if the Department of Health and Welfare (DHW), Infant 
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Toddler Program (ITP), referred the student as potentially eligible for special education 
and related services. 

• ECDecTim- Indicates if the student's initial eligibility determination was made on or 
before the student's third birthday.  If determined eligible, the individualized Education 
Program (IEP) must also have been developed on or before the child’s third birthday to 
qualify as Yes. 

• ECDecLate- If the initial eligibility determination and/or IEP occurred after the child's 
third birthday, report the number of days beyond the student's third birthdate that the 
Early Childhood Transition requirements were completed. 

• ECLateRea- If eligibility determination and/or IEP are late, report the reason for delay. 
• ECLROther- If eligibility determination for special education and related services was 

late, and the reason was other, explain. 
 
 

60-day Timeline Data Fields and Descriptions 
See the table below for coding details. 
 

• consentDate- The date the LEA received the parent's written (signed) consent for initial 
assessment.  This starts the clock for the 60-day timeline. Required if the date of the 
student’s initial eligibility determination for special education services (IDSpedDate) is 
after the last day of the prior school year. 

• 60DTline- Indicates if the initial eligibility determination for special education was 
completed within 60 calendar days of receipt of parental consent for assessment. If 
initial eligibility exceeded 60 calendar days for ANY reason, mark No. 

• DaysLate- If the initial eligibility determination was not completed within 60 calendar 
days, indicate the number of days late. 

• LDRea- The reason the initial eligibility determination exceeded 60 calendar days. 
• ExRule- Explanation for choosing state exception rule (SE) as the reason the initial 

eligibility determination exceeded 60 calendar days. 
• UndetRea- The reason for selecting undetermined eligibility for special education 

services (SpedEligible). For initial eligibility determination only. 

Notes:  
* All students for whom the LEA receives parental consent for initial assessment must be 
included in state reporting. This includes students who do not qualify for services after the 
initial eligibility evaluation and are not previously enrolled in the LEA, such as Early Childhood 
Transition students too young to enroll, students from private schools, and homeschooled 
students. To report these students: 

o You can enroll them in the school for just the date of testing (EntryDate = testing 
date, ExitDate = testing date, (For PowerSchool ExitDate = testing date + 1 day)  

o At a minimum, ISEE requires a Student Demographics record and a Special 
Education record with the consentDate, IDSpedDate, any applicable information 
regarding early childhood transition, and "T" (Tested/Ineligible) for SEstatus). 
 

*For ISEE uploads, every student needs an Educational Unique Identifier (EDUID). LEAs must 
use the ISEE Education Application Portal to verify if a student already has an EDUID. If not, the 
LEA must provide the student's Legal Name (including Middle Name, if applicable), Birthdate, 
and Gender (Male/Female) based on a legal document like a birth certificate to obtain an 
EDUID for the student. 
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RECORDING 60-DAY TIMELINE INFORMATION IN ISEE 

The following tables provide LEA teams with detailed information to enhance their understanding of data requirements and considerations for Child Find and 60-
day timeline coding. This guidance aims to ensure accurate reporting through the Idaho System for Educational Excellence (ISEE). 

Item Description Count Coding 

1. Number of students that had an initial eligibility determination finalized in the current 
school year or after the last day of the prior school year.    

Report 60-day Timeline information. If 
referred from the DHW Infant Toddler 
Program also report Early Childhood 
Transition. 

1.a. Of those students included in Item 1, the number with initial eligibility determined 
within 60 calendar days of receipt of signed parental consent for initial assessment.  60DTline = Y (Yes) 

1.b. 
Of those students included in Item 1, the number with initial eligibility determined 
beyond 60 calendar days of receipt of signed parental consent for initial assessment for 
ANY reason. See next page for more details. 

 

60DTline = N (No) 

DaysLate = # of days beyond 60 calendar days 

LDRea – List the reason why initial eligibility 
exceeded 60 calendar days (Extends timeline: 
RE, SM, SE /Does not Extend Timeline: AA, SD, 
ST) 

Notes – Provide additional detail as needed 

1.c. 
Of those students included in Item 1, the number that resulted in an initial eligibility 
determination that the student Did Not Qualify for special education and related 
services 

 
Eligible = N – Not Eligible 

SeStatus = T – Tested Ineligible (this code is for 
initial eligibility only) 

2. 

The number of students for whom the LEA received signed parental consent for initial 
assessment and the initial eligibility determination was not able to be finalized because 
of one of the following undetermined reasons (UndetRea): 

• MO – Moved out of district 
• SD – Student is deceased 
• WD – Withdrawn by Parent 
• NR – Non-Responsive  

 

Report the following: 

consentDate - The date the LEA received the 
parent's written (signed) consent for initial 
assessment. 

Eligible = U (Undetermined) 

UndetRea – List appropriate option (MO, SD, 
WD, NR) 
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INITIAL ELIGIBILITY WAS NOT COMPLETED IN 60 CALENDAR DAYS 
Additional information is required for students falling under category 1.b., where initial eligibility was not completed within 60 calendar days. Each student's 
eligibility process should be carefully coded based on individual circumstances. Although several factors may affect the timeliness of eligibility evaluations, ISEE 
permits only one code per record. Teams should prioritize coding late reasons (LDRea) in the following order. For more details on calculating the 60-day timeline 
and applying the State Exception Rule, refer to the 60-Day Timeline Quick Guide.  

Item Description Count Coding 

 Allowable Reasons that Extend the 60-Day Timeline   

b.1. 
RE- The parent repeatedly failed or refused to produce the student for an 
evaluation after the district had made reasonable efforts to schedule an 
evaluation (34 CFR § 300.301(d)(1)). 

 LDRea = RE – Reasonable Efforts/Failure 
to Produce  

b.2. 
SM- The student moved to a new LEA while initial eligibility was in process. 
The parent/guardian and the LEA agreed in writing on a new timeline for 
completing the eligibility process. 

 
LDRea = SM – Student moved into an LEA, 
and the timeline was extended through a 
mutual written agreement 

b.3. 

SE- There was a school closure of 5 or more consecutive school days due to: 
ExRule option set:  
• AN – Acts of Nature (fire, flood, snow, or other inclement weather, or 

widespread communicable illness) 
• HB – Holiday Break (Thanksgiving, Winter Break) 
• OB – Other School Break (harvest break, hunting, etc.) 
• SB – Spring Break 
• SM – Summer Break 

 

LDRea = SE – State Exception Rule 
ExRule – use appropriate code for the 
student’s unique situation (AN, HB, OB, 
SB, SM) 
Notes – list additional information 

 Reasons That Do Not Extend the 60-Day Timeline   

b.4. AA - Additional Assessment(s) were requested by the family or adult student.  LDRea = AA – Additional Assessment(s) 
needed  

b.5. ST - The delay resulted from the inability to coordinate (internal resources) 
because of staffing issues.   

LDRea = ST – Staffing Issues 
Notes - Required (Must explain) 

b.6. 
SD - The delay resulted from the inability to coordinate with all concerned 
(external) stakeholders.  

LDRea = SD – Scheduling Difficulties 
Notes – Required (Must explain)  

 

https://idahotc.com/Download/Name/60daytimelinequickguide
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