
MANIFESTATION DETERMINATION FLOW CHART 

REVIEW LEA 

POLICIES 

In-school Suspension (ISS): 
Does not count toward 10 days of removal for    
Special Education students if all three are true: 

1. Participation in general education curriculum; and
2. Receives services on IEP; and
3. Continues to participate with non-disabled peers.

If NO to any question

Suspension  
The student is removed from 

the school and no educational 
services are provided. 

 

Special Education Student? 
Federal law (IDEA) allows a student to be 
suspended without educational or special  
education services for up to10 cumulative 

school days (including partial days that when 
combined would add to a full day).  

Beyond 10 days = a change of placement. 

Does the student’s 
behavior affect his/
her learning or that 

of others? 

Consider calling an IEP Team meeting to 
review the effectiveness of the IEP and if 

modifications need to be made.  

Are we getting close to the 10 cumulative 
school days, or are we considering long 

term suspension (a change of placement)?

Regular Education Student? 
Idaho law allows for a temporary suspension by 

the principal not to exceed 5 school days in 
length. The superintendent may extend the     

temporary suspension an additional 10 school 
days. If the school board finds that an immediate 
return to school by student would be detrimental 
to other students' safety, the board may extend 
the temporary suspension for an additional 5 

school days. The board may deny enrollment, or 
may deny attendance at any of its schools by    

expulsion for violation. (l. C. 33-205).  

Is the student suspected

of having a disability? 

If the parent asserts the right to FAPE and
the district had a basis of knowledge for
the presence of a disability, the student is

afforded IDEA protections. 

If the parent requests evaluation
for special education during    

disciplinary procedures,     
evaluation is completed in an  

expedited manner. 

Proceed under 
Idaho Law    
(I.C. 33-205) 

If student is found 
eligible for special 

education 

HOLD A MANIFESTATION  

DETERMINATION MEETING 
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YES 

YES 

 
 
 

YES 
 

NO 

NO, but... 

 
 

 

These documents are for illustration only. Please refer to the Idaho Special Education Manual and the IDEA for detailed guidance. Original created by M. Reese. Reviewed January 2023.



 

CONDUCTING THE  

MANIFESTATION DETERMINATION 

The Manifestation Determination meeting must occur within 10 

school days of any decision to change the placement of a child with  

a disability because of a violation of a code of student conduct.  

The LEA continues to provides educational services during this time. 

                    LEA MUST: 
• Provide Written Notice 
• Provide Procedural Safeguards 

CONVENE TEAM 

The LEA convenes a team 

which includes the parent and 

relevant members of the 

child’s IEP team (as              

determined by the parent     

and the LEA). 

REVIEW FILE 

The team reviews all relevant  

information in the student's file, 

including the child's IEP, any teacher 

observations, and any 

relevant information 

provided by the parents. 

DECIDE 

The team makes two decisions: 

1. Was conduct in question 

caused by, or had a direct and  

 substantial relationship to the  

 child’s disability; or  

     

     

 2.  Was the conduct in question     

 the direct result of the LEA’s  

 failure to implement the IEP? 

     

     

IF “YES” TO ONE or BOTH QUESTIONS 

the behavior was a manifestation of the disability. 
 

The LEA must conduct a Functional Behavioral 

Assessment (unless already conducted) and implement 

a Behavior Improvement Plan (BIP) for the student, or 

modify the BIP if one already existed. 
 

The student returns to original placement unless the LEA 

and parent agree to a change in placement as part of 

the modified BIP. 

IF "NO" TO BOTH QUESTIONS 

the behavior was not a manifestation of the disability.  
 

The LEA may discipline student in the same manner as it   

would with a student without a disability. 

HOWEVER. . .  

The student will continue to receive educational services to 

enable the student to continue in the general education 

curriculum, although in another setting, and to progress in 

meeting IEP goals. 

THE IEP TEAM DETERMINES PLACEMENT! 



IF THE STUDENT IS NOT ELIGIBLE  FOR 

SPECIAL EDUCATION AT THE 

TIME OF VIOLATION 

The parent may assert the LEA had a basis of 

knowledge that the student had a disability. 

Basis of Knowledge: 

An LEA will be deemed to have a basis of 

knowledge if before the behavior occurred: 

• the parent expressed concern to the LEA in writing

that the child was in need of special education; OR

• the parent requested a special education

evaluation; OR

• any LEA personnel expressed specific concerns

about the child's behavior directly to a supervisor. 

Exception to Basis of Knowledge: 

An LEA would not be deemed to have a 

basis for knowledge if the parent 

• had not allowed an evaluation or refused

IDEA services; OR

• the child had been evaluated and found

ineligible for special education.

If no basis of knowledge: 

• The student is subject to the disciplinary measures

applied to non-disabled students.

• If a request is made for an evaluation after the

time of the violation, evaluation must be

conducted in an expedited manner.

• The student will remain in the placement

determined by the LEA and can include

suspension or expulsion without educational

services.

• If the student is found eligible for special

education, the LEA must provide special

education services in accordance with these

disciplinary provisions (including determining if

the behavior was a manifestation of the disability).

VIOLATIONS INVOLVING WEAPONS, 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES, OR 

SERIOUS BODILY INJURY 

An LEA may remove a student to an Interim 

Alternative Educational Setting (IAES) 

without regard of whether the behavior is a 

manifestation of a disability, for up to 45 

school days for: 

• bringing a weapon to school or school

function; OR

• possessing, selling, soliciting, or using

illegal drugs or a controlled substance; OR

• inflicting serious bodily injury upon

another person at school or at a school

function.

• Student must continue to receive

education services so as to enable the

child to progress in the general

education curriculum, although in a

different setting, and progress towards IEP

goals.

Educational Services while in IAES: 

THE IEP TEAM DECIDES THE IAES! 

PARTIAL vs FULL-DAY SUSPENSIONS 

 Removals from school include partial day 

 suspensions, transportation suspensions, 

 and other partial day removals from 

 school (such as asking the parent to take 

 the student home from school early). 

 Whether a partial day suspension is 

 "rounded up" to a full day is not defined 

 in IDEA or clear in the case law. At the 

 very least, partial day suspensions would 

 be added together in reaching the 10 

 days (i.e., half day + half day = full day). 

EXPEDITED HEARINGS FOR 

DISCIPLINARY ISSUES 

An Expedited Due Process Hearing may 

be requested by: 

• the LEA when parents will not agree to a

change of placement when the LEA believes

that the current placement is substantially

likely to result in injury to the child or others;

OR

• parents who do not agree with the location

of, or the services being provided in the 45

day IAES placement; OR

• parents who disagree with the results of a

manifestation determination; OR

• parent who believes the removal constitutes

a change of placement; OR

• the LEA seeking to continue the 45 day

IAES due to the dangerousness of the

student.

Expedited due process hearings must    
occur within 20 days of filing. The 

hearing officer will render a decision 

within 10 school days of the hearing. 

Students remain in the IAES pending the 

decision or until the expiration of the 

IAES unless LEA and parent agrees 

otherwise. 
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